Happy to be me

Something Joyce Meyer said this morning on her tv broadcast got me thinking. She was talking about being at peace with yourself.

I tend to be really honest and transparent about my shortcomings. Even to the extent that sometimes I think that other people think I am really down on myself when all I am really trying to do is be real. I really don’t go about beating myself up all the time but I do seek change in certain areas of my life. I realise though that it is time to speak positively and call those things which are not (yet) as though they are.

Lately I have been hankering for a normal life. You know, the kind of life where your hubby works a 9 to 5 job, and is home in the evenings, where your house is always in order, there is time to do all the little things that need to get done, and your kids are little angels. I look at friends around me and from the outside, it is always easy to see something in their lives that they have, but I don’t.

One dear friend’s house is always spotless, she pours a lot into her kids and it shows, her hubby is always home (and ready to be a helpful father) at 5pm. They do a lot of things together as a family, my family in contrast seems so fragmented. I look at her, and I want those things. But when I look again, at the big picture, and see the things she deals with, the terrible secret she hides, her own compulsive personality, I realise that I just want the good stuff in her life. I do not want to have the whole package.

I took a good mental look at several friends’ lives this morning. Sometimes my own deals seem so unsurmountable and others seem like they have it so much easier. But would I want to swop out my life for theirs, the whole package, including all of their issues, personality flaws, and personal struggles? I think I would not. I have lived long enough to know that even those people who seem like they have it all together, have mountains in their lives.

I am so aware of God’s grace covering all of my life. I know he is working a thing in me through everything I am, and everything I deal with. I know nothing is impossible with him. I am excited and ready to “stand, and see the salvation of the Lord” (Exo 14:13, 1 Sam 12:16, 2 Chron 20:17) in the midst of my troubles.

4 responses to “Happy to be me

  1. I hear you girl. I look at friends and see their lives all perfect looking on the outside and forget to really see my own. I want the husband who leads the family spiritually and is a good Christian man but I don’t want the insecurity of him not being capable of holding down a good job. My husband is a Christian man who leaves Christian teaching and taking the kids to church all up to me….of course he must approve of where we go to church…. I don’t, however, have to ever worry that he won’t provide for his family. He’s a wonderful provider.
    Thanks for reminding me to stop looking outside and start looking inside. 🙂

  2. Very thought provoking post:)

  3. it is always easy to want the good things we see in our friends lives, but as you mentioned their lives are far from perfect and they have their own issues to deal with. Be happy with yourself, the Lord made you who you are for a reason.

  4. This has always been a hard lesson for me. I do think that I get better with age. It is easy to see what good is in everyone’s lives. Not so easy to see their private struggles. We really can only be who God made us to be.

Leave a Reply

