Waiting

I am sitting here looking up scriptures on e-sword. My journal is somewhere in the house and I don’t want to go looking for it, so I thought I’d write down my observations here.

I was lying awake in bed this morning thinking about the fact that I need ‘endurance’…  I have an overwhelming amount of things to do and issues to contend with and sometimes it is easier to just curl up with a good book and let life flow right past me. I don’t want to do that anymore. I want to learn how to see things through until the end.

I was looking up scriptures on endurance…

Jas 5:11 Behold, we count them happy which endure. Ye have heard of the patience of Job, and have seen the end of the Lord; that the Lord is very pitiful, and of tender mercy.

We see from this scripture that to endure (or press on through our trials) is a happy thing, and leads to an expected end full of the mercy and salvation of the Lord. (Jer 29:11)

The New Testament word for endure translates roughly into the same word as ‘wait’ in the Old Testament. To me the word ‘wait’ doesn’t simply mean what we think it does in the english language. It is not a passive word, but a very active one. It doesn’t imply standing in line and waiting (how boring) for something.

It means, from the Strong’s: to bind together (perhaps by twisting), that is, collect; (figuratively) to expect: – gather together, look, patiently, tarry, wait for, wait on, wait upon.

So when I say, like David, that I am witing on the Lord it really means that I am binding my life together with Him, full of expectation for Him to come. I am not waiting for something, I am binding my life together with Someone.

All that I need is wrapped up in the person of Jesus. It is in his nearness, and in his presence in my life that I find the strength to overcome. It is His grace, his divine enablement upon my heart, which helps me to ‘not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. ‘ (Gal 6:9)

Some scriptures to chew on: (more for myself than anyone else)

Psa 27:14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

Psa 37:9 For evildoers shall be cut off: but those that wait upon the LORD, they shall inherit the earth.

Psa 37:34 Wait on the LORD, and keep his way, and he shall exalt thee to inherit the land.

Psa 39:7 And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope is in thee.

Isa 40:31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; they shall walk, and not faint. 

Lam 3:25 The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him. It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.

Psa 40:1 I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.

Pro 8:34 Blessed is the man that heareth me, watching daily at my gates, waiting at the posts of my doors. For whoso findeth me findeth life, and shall obtain favour of the LORD.

3 responses to “Waiting

  1. Thank you, Sumi for that insight. I always find it valuable to read your insights of the Word. You have a way of seeing things and putting it into a way that I can completely relate to.

    I like how you put it that waiting on the Lord is not a boring time. Rather it is an active time of growth, spiritual growth. Often times this is what I,and others, need to be reminded of – waiting on the Lord is not idleness as we think of waiting rather it is a time to seek after God and His will.

    Thank you. 🙂

  2. Very insightful Sumi. I always hate “waiting”…. I am not good at it at all. You have given me a fresh perspective. I love this part “So when I say, like David, that I am witing on the Lord it really means that I am binding my life together with Him, full of expectation for Him to come. I am not waiting for something, I am binding my life together with Someone.” I think when we are waiting on the Lord, sometimes we think of it a being a hard time when it could really be a time of bonding with Him.

  3. Sumi…I’ve missed coming to visit you….I love reading your insights and seeing how you are growing in God’s Word.

    I love E-Sword!!!

    You are always an encouragement to me….:)

Leave a Reply

