When he is nearest and dearest

I was chatting with a friend the other day and we somehow ended up talking about how Jesus is always with us in the toughest times in our lives. It made me think of the phrase ‘the fellowship of his sufferings’… in Philipians 3:10. Isn’t it incredible how he becomes so precious to us in our darkest times? Looking back, I must say that some of the most treasured memories in my walk with Jesus come from the times when I was down and out and at the lowest points of my life.

I remember once being deeply betrayed by someone, and having no choice but to just bow to the situation and say nothing, trusting God to vindicate me… I remember the sweet presence of my Lord so close and dear to me as I had to continue dealing with this person in forgiveness, as though nothing had happened.

So much fruit came out of that period in my life and yet, the most precious thing is that memory…of the fellowship that I had with Jesus in my own suffering. He reminds me time and time again what a faithful friend he is, and how much he cares for me.

Isn’t He just the sweetest, kindest, and most precious friend?

3 responses to “When he is nearest and dearest

  1. AMEN…

  2. yeah, I kind of like him too.
    he’s a keeper!
    (hehe)

  3. Such truth in all that you said. (((Sumi)))

Leave a Reply

