To be more like Jesus

This is my hearts’ desire. But how do I get there? What is it that changes me into his likeness? I think there is more than one thing, but for today I want to talk about worship.

The bible says that God inhabits the praises of his people. I have so often felt far from Jesus but when I draw near to him and worship him, I can sense him drawing near to me. (James 4:8…draw nigh unto God, and he will draw nigh unto you.) It is not that Jesus is not near to us all the time, he is always with us, says David in Psalm149. But somehow when we worship him, he reveals himself to us in a stronger way. I think when Jesus looks at us worshipping him, it moves his heart, and he wants to come and hang out with us! He is our bridegroom after all and when we adore him in our worship, we look like his bride!

Worshipping him in spirit and truth, even when it is a sacrifice (the bible talks about the sacrifice of praise) will always bring his presence near. When the temple of Solomon was dedicated the bible says in 2Ch 5:13

It came even to pass, as the trumpeters and singers were as one, to make one sound to be heard in praising and thanking the LORD; and when they lifted up their voice with the trumpets and cymbals and instruments of music, and praised the LORD, saying, For he is good; for his mercy endureth for ever: that then the house was filled with a cloud, even the house of the LORD; So that the priests could not stand to minister by reason of the cloud: for the glory of the LORD had filled the house of God.

God came when his people worshipped. (See Is. 6: 3 and 4 as well.) The same thing happened when Paul and Silas worshipped in jail, and the bible says that their bonds were loosed. I like to think that the issues in my life that hold me in bondage are loosed too, little by little, as I worship Jesus.

So we see that worshipping God makes him draw near to us and his glory appears. I love this following verse, becasue it tells us what happens when we see God in his glory:

2Co 3:18 But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.

It changes into his image! I think it is a bit by bit process, here a little, there a little, from glory to glory and strength to strength…but worshipping God is one of the vehicles for our change.

A precious brother and friend in South Africa wrote this song:

Something happens to me when I bow down to worship You
So I’ll worship You Lord whenever I can
I will fall to my knees though the world doesn’t worship You
I will love You with everything that I am

Oh my Lord oh my God what an honor to love one as high as You
I’m restored I am transformed by the strength of Your love
Oh my Lord oh my God I am changed by Your love as I worship You
There is life there is hope in the light of Your love
In the light of Your love

Nothing else can compare with the joy when I worship You
Nothing else that is made by the hand of man
So I’ll bow down again and my Lord I will worship You
I will love You with everything that I am

One response to “To be more like Jesus

  1. maybe that’s why I LOVE to worship so much!!

    fyi- I love that song too!

Leave a Reply

