The masterpiece

So that was it. We were moving to the United States, and all we could take with us were our suitcases. Two per person. Thirty-something years of our lives condensed into 10 suitcases. I became a master packer, and my mother in law’s eyes spoke volumes as I unpacked at this side of the ocean. Not a single space was wasted. Even the big spaces underneath the duplo blocks got stuffed with lego. 😀

But still, many things had to stay behind, to be picked up later…or never. My wedding dress. Favorite toys. Knick-knacks. My ceramics.

There was one piece I couldn’t bear to part with, however, and with the utmost of care it became the focal point in the artful arrangement of my suitcase’s contents. Everything was packed just so…with the goal of keeping my favorite ceramic bowl safe and sound. I prayed fervently that the customs people wouldn’t get the notion in their heads to go and mess with the perfection that was my suitcase. 🙂 

When we got here my bowl was honored with the best spot in the house, where I would often pass it and look on it with joy.

A year or two rolled by. I was still struggling to find my feet in a foreign land away from my friends and family. I had  come to know loneliness, but in it, I had found a Friend who was always with me. I deeply appreciated the people that He had brought into my life to make it easier. Among them, was a young girl who freely offered her babysitting services even though she knew I could hardly afford to pay her.

My heart was sweet and tender before Jesus in those days, and when I felt him nudging me to give this young lady my bowl as a token of my appreciation, it wasn’t too hard to do. As time rolled by, however, I began to second-guess my decision to do so. Did she really know what a sacrifice it had been to give her my precious bowl? Will she treasure it like I would?

I felt worse about it when I unexpectedly dropped by at her house one day and saw my bowl in her room, cluttered with papers and what-nots. It was not a clutter-holder, it was a piece of art, my masterpiece, and it was meant to be displayed!

I must admit I had days when I regretted giving my bowl away after that. I wasn’t sure that I had done the right thing.

 The young lady eventually married and moved away, and I haven’t seen much of her since. A few years ago, I ran into her at a wedding. As she hugged me, the first thing she whispered in my ear was: “I still have your bowl.” Her words ministered to my heart and gave me peace. And through them, I thought I heard the Lord whispering something to my heart.

Our Father gave me his masterpiece too. Do I realise how much it cost him to give his own son for me? Do I really treasure and value this precious gift…Jesus? Do I display him to the world, or do I tend to clutter him up with my junk?

25 responses to “The masterpiece

  1. no we never seem to realize just how much it cost the Lord, in spite of that I’m ever so grateful that he made that sacrifice for us even while knowing that we would not always be able to ‘get it’

    Hugs Sumi, you are doing a great job. I know how hard it was to give your bowl away. They truly are only things.

  2. oooh – that’s good, that’s good

  3. Sumi you are talented with communicating Christian meaning through analogies. I hope you are keeping a record of them for publishing at some time in the future.

  4. WOW… amen…. thanks for sharing Sumi…

  5. You’ve managed to make me cry here. But they are tears of tenderness and regret. Tenderness at how you have shared a part of yourself, put yourself out here in the open where you are vulnerable to criticism. Regret that I’ve not always treasured the Gift given so freely to/for me.

    I agree w/Donna, please keep these someplace safe and put them in a book for others down the road of life. 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for the kind comments! 🙂

  7. What a wonderful story of your obedience to God and His blessing of it. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Thanks for sharing – we never know how our obedience will affect others.

  9. What beautiful closing thoughts you presented in your article.

    Blessings,
    Miss Sandy

  10. What a beautiful post, a heart of one following her Lord.

    Thank you for sharing,
    Juile

  11. CONGRATULATIONS! on the writing contest, a well deserved honor. Have a blessed day!

    Miss Sandy

  12. Oh Wow!! That’s beautiful. Congratulations on the contest! I also love the picture of the little girl & cat on your blog-so precious.
    Thanks for sharing such a great reminder, I won’t be forgetting the “bowl story”.
    Blessings~
    Lelia

  13. congratulations! Thanks for the beautiful reminder of how we are being used even when we don’t think we are!
    God Bless

  14. This was so beautiful! Congratulations! 🙂

  15. Good message!

    And… congratulations! 🙂

  16. Congratulations!!!!

    It’s a beautiful story and a beautiful act of worship to the Lord. You followed Him well in the offering of something precious to you, to Him.

    I was so happy to see your article chosen in the contest.

    Congratulations again!!!

    Blessings,
    Julie

  17. Congratulations!!!

  18. Awesome!! I LOVE when people are able to draw some valuable lessons from everyday life. How many of us would have overlooked such a wonderful example of God’s love for us!

    thank you for the image, the smile and the encouragement today

    Blessings
    Rachel

  19. wow. very thoughtful.
    thank you for taking the time to write this—

    and congratulations!

    love
    jess

  20. This was really beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  21. What a beautiful post. I loved it. Thank you for sharing. I look forward to reading more on your blog!

    Blessings from Tennessee!

  22. Trackback: This post was featured at Heart of Wisdoms Spiritual Sunday links.

    http://heartofwisdom.com/blog

  23. Pingback: March 8 2008 « Sumi’s corner

  24. Sumi,
    You know more of this sacrifice now than ever before. My heart is broken for you. I pray that God will continue to show you ways to celebrate Jenna’s life even as he walks beside you in your grief. You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Love,
    Lisa

  25. Pingback: Lysa TerKeurst – A little of this and a little of that

Leave a Reply

