August 2 2007

I woke up late this morning. It has been storming, and it is still really dark outside. The storms made me think of this hurricane season. Watch the weather channel’s tropical updates this year hasn’t been the same. I suppose it is amusing watching the news-anchors trying to fill the time slot when there is nothing to say.  A lady got rather elated this week to finally have something to report. There was a storm out there, but it wasn’t going to affect land in any way. “We have a Tropical storm, folks!”, she announced with a sing-songy voice and plenty of enthusiasm.

I must say the lack of activity in this department is a blessing and I don’t wish a hurricane on anybody. We had a small taste of what it could mean when Francis side-swiped us the summer that Jenna was born. That was the same year that Florida got hit by four hurricanes in one season. We felt the effects of each one to some measure, but Francis knocked our power out for 4 days and downed scores of trees in our neighborhood.

I don’t want a hurricane here, there or anywhere. Having said that, I usually have some kind of morbid fascination with watching them form and following their track…call me a weather geek…

One response to “August 2 2007

  1. I LOVE storms and hurricanes, but most of the time I keep it to myself b/c people do look at me like I’m crazy. I guess I just have a peace about that lamb’s blood over the doorpost thing. . . so I love watching the trees bend and things blow across the street, etc.

    but it’s our secret, ok? hehehe

Leave a Reply

