Honey from the rock

My post about Laodicea made me curious about all the scriptures that mention honey in the bible, so I pulled out my Strong’s and did a search on it.

I found this scripture and I liked it:

Deut 32:9-13 For the LORD’S portion is his people; Jacob is the lot of his inheritance. He found him in a desert land, and in the waste howling wilderness; he led him about, he instructed him, he kept him as the apple of his eye… He made him to suck honey out of the rock, and oil out of the flinty rock

I looked up the word ‘rock’ in this passage, it means ‘cliff, boulder, precipituous edge, fortress’ and it comes from a root word that means to cramp, confine, beset, besiege, bind (up), distress, fashion, fortify, inclose, lay siege…

I liked the verse because it reminded me to learn to ‘suck honey’ out of the circumstances in my life that make me feel cramped, confined, and besieged. There is always something sweet to be found in our hard places. Usually that sweet thing is the presence of Jesus himself, which satisfies our every need and desire.

When Samson was attacked by the lion (which is either a type of the devil or of Jesus in the scriptures…in this case the lion is attacking the man of God so it speaks of the devil) he overcame, and when he passed by some time later he found a honeycomb in the carcass. Out of his tribulation came sweetness!

Judges 14:14 Out of the eater came forth meat, and out of the strong came forth sweetness.

Sometimes it seems as if our enemy is so strong, out to devour us, but when (not if πŸ™‚ ) we prevail against him we find that the struggle has yielded both meat for our spiritual growth and the sweetness of Jesus’ dealings and fellowship in our lives. This is just the way it is. We seem to be destined to grow and become like Jesus not (as much) through our times of ease and contentment, (though those times can generate great moments of gratefulness and worship) but through our struggles.

I have resolved to ‘suck the honey out of my rock’ this week. I know his honey satisfies. πŸ™‚

Psalms 81:16 …and with honey out of the rock I would have satisfied you.

2 responses to “Honey from the rock

  1. All those references to honey, the natural sweetener. And when it is pure, like the Word, and consumed by those who’ve been purified by the Blood there is nothing bad in it at all.

  2. I enjoyed reading about honey. You have a great way of writing.

Leave a Reply

