October 22

Whew! It has been a whirlwind week. We had a conference at our church spanning 5 days and 10 meetings. My house is a wreck. My laundry is a mountain. But my heart is renewed and my vision refreshed.

I enjoyed seeing old friends again who came from all over to attend the meetings. We had some awesome musicians and it was a joy to be part of the worship team with such talent in it. The violin player…oh my goodness…he made me yearn to be able to play that thing.

The pastor of our church in Bolivia came over for the conference too.  He is the most talented pianist I know, and listening to him always makes me want to spruce up my playing.

In one of my first posts here I mentioned a song the Lord gave me.  I was inspired during the conference to pull it out and start practising to play and sing it at the same time. Many of you know that I often lament my lack of ability in that area. I did consider asking my Bolivian pastor-friend to record it for me here on my keyboard when he comes for dinner tomorrow with his wife and cutest-baby-daughter-in-the-whole-wide-world. But you know, even though his playing far surpasses mine, I thought I am going to bite the bullet and attempt playing it myself. It is a simple song to play and it is now or never. 🙂

Here’s something that one of my black ‘sistahs’ told me when we were all at the church-cleaning day in preparation for the conference. I had just sat down on the wet carpet and had been rewarded with a wet spot on my derriere. Soooo this girl pipes up and says: “You know, Sumi, for a white chick you have quite a big butt.” Oh my!  Did I get offended? No! I laughed and told her it must be my african heritage. I thought it a compliment that she would talk to me in ‘sistah-lingo’, if you get my drift. 😀

Besides, my ample endowment is obvious to all. When I was teaching Middle school english as a young spring-chicken teacher one of my students thought he’d make a smart-alecky comment and asked me if I was related to the bushmen of the Kalahari desert.  

Some fashion historians attribute the ‘bustle’ to a bushman girl, Saartjie Baartman who was taken to Europe about 2oo years ago. It was the age of freak shows and Saartjie had an …um…unusual physique. Let’s just say she didn’t need any padding in the rear to make her clothes look like a bustle. Upon her death a plaster cast was made of her body and was displayed in a museum in Paris. After repeated requests form the South African government her remains were returned to SA in 2002 for a decent burial.

How did I get off on that tangent? I’m sure you all didn’t need to know that bit of information. Her story is so tragic though – it is incredible how inhumane people can be to others.

Hah! I just noticed that this post is titled October 22 and it is the 24th already. Just shows you how busy I am. It took me two whole days to write this entry. 🙂

One response to “October 22

  1. Sumi, I was told that my rear quarters came from my Portugese herritage. 😆

Leave a Reply

