Ups and downs

Gen 8:22 While the earth remaineth, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.

Writing a comment on Lisa’s blog reminded me of this verse. I remember how, as a new believer, I used to lament my tendency to be so up in the mountain the one moment and down in the valley the next. I wondered what was wrong with me, that I couldn’t stay up on the mountain of God continuously.

I have since come to realise that for now, that is how it is going to be. It has everything to do with the seasons of life.  If I stayed on the mountain all the time I would never come to understand that my God is faithful, a merciful helper, an awesome giver of new beginnings after miserable failures.  I would never know my own frailties and desperate need for him. I wouldn’t experience the sweet rest  beside the quiet waters, nor his closer-than-the-dearest-friend nearness when I walk through the valley of the shadow of death. I would have no idea that I could actually feast at his table even though the enemies of my soul (yes, even the ones inside me) are looking on.  I wouldn’t truly know grace, and since those who have been forgiven much love much, I wouldn’t have that cup that runs over with adoration to him.

The mountain-top experience wouldn’t be as treasured if it weren’t for the valleys. It would just become common-place. The spring’s newness wouldn’t be quite so precious if it weren’t for the winter’s barrenness.

The seasons are all part of learning and growing in Him. I’ll even venture to say that I have found out more about God and his character in the winter/valley/seedtime/cold/night seasons of life than in the summer/mountain/harvest/warm/day-time seasons.

4 responses to “Ups and downs

  1. First, I agree with everything you’ve said.

    Just to add to what you’ve said though, it’s my opinion that the greatest form of our walk will come when we no longer have mountains or valleys and we’re just walking on level ground (in a field of lillies maybe). 😉

  2. Sumi….you have such amazing insight. That was a wonderful and so very true to life post as we journey on our Christian walk. Isn’t that true with life in general. We can even sit back and watch that same cycle in our children as they grow.

    I love reading what you write…:-)

  3. Never were truer words written, well except for His Word. 🙂

    Thank you for putting into words how I’ve always viewed life and the mountains & valleys of living with Christ.

    How I long for the days of walking in the field of lillies but I think that will come with His return because we are imperfect people in an imperfect world.

  4. You speak truth, my friend…

Leave a Reply

