Our measuring wall

When we still lived in SA my mom kept a chart where she recorded all her grandchildren’s heights on her sewing room’s door. The kids enjoyed seeing how much they had grown since their previous measurement.

It was something that I decided to duplicate on my kitchen wall. We have recorded my kids’ height, as well as that of their best friends, for the past 4 years now. Jenna’s best buddy, who is 7 months older than her, always tops her by at least 6 inches. My youngest is slowly catching up with the middle boy, who is probably going to be the shortest of my boys. The oldest tops me by at least 4 inches already. (Yes, I am on the wall.) My pastor’s daughter, who is a year younger than my oldest son, topped me by 4 inches about 2 years ago.

It is a fun thing to have on our wall and when our kitchen fire necessitated a re-paint I painstakingly recorded my wall measurements so that I could replace them once the kitchen had it’s makeover. I was a bit sad that my mom’s handwriting on the wall, which she made on a visit here, was erased at that point. Almost everything on the wall now is in my writing or my oldest’s.

There is something interesting about my wall and the measurements on it. I have noticed that when I look at the children’s measurements on the wall it always seems a few inches too high. I didn’t know Jenna was that tall? How can Joseph (her buddy) be so big already? When I investigated this discrepancy between how tall my children actually are (the wall doesn’t lie) and how tall I thought they were, I saw a pattern. My perception of how tall my children are is almost always dead on target…to the height of their eyes. Since that is where I focus when I look at them, that is where my brain has decided their height must be. Cool, huh? 

I have noticed that I can gage my children and people whom I spend a lot of time with quite accurately in terms of their eye-height. I am at a loss with people whom I don’t know. Which makes a whole heap of sense.

I was pondering this under the cosy covers of my tempur-pedic bed (still loving it!) this morning and something else occured to me. This is how God measures us too. He doesn’t look at our stature in the world or how much we have accomplished. He looks at our eyes, which is the window of our souls. He is concerned with our hearts more than anything else. How often do we meet his gaze?

1Sam 16:7 But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.

3 responses to “Our measuring wall

  1. Sumi….I know I say it all the teim…but I love reading your thoughts. I love how you tied this all in as to how we are viewed by God…….How true…..

  2. this lesson is song inspiring – I feel some lyrics bubbling up . . .

  3. oooOOOOooooh… You’ll have to share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

