Daily Archives: March 14, 2008

Jenna sings some more

As promised, here are some more clips of Jenna singing.

I can imagine her singing the first song on this clip to us right now:

itsy-bitsy-spider.wav

This one still makes me laugh. She still kept going for a good while after the recorder thangamabob cut out!

old-macdonald2.wav

Today wasn’t such a bad day. It was full and busy and I didn’t have as much time to think and reminisce and miss my girly-girl. I do find that as time marches on relentlessly I miss her more. I expect the difficult part of the road lies ahead of me. I cannot predict what it will be like for me from here on out but I realise that, like Jesus said to Martha, one thing is needful. The one thing that is needful for me right now is to stay at the feet of Jesus and take each day and every step on this journey, one at a time.

If I appear to be strong through this trial it is only a testimony of how faithful our God is to provide the grace we need when we need it. I miss Jenna more acutely every day and I wonder sometimes whether the wheels will come spinning off and I will be dumped into a time of  deep and raw and bleak grieving. I do know that even there though, God will be with me.  

Psalm 18:28 For thou wilt light my candle: the LORD my God will enlighten my darkness.

On our last day here with Jenna on American soil, we rushed into the church office to get some last minute things. I grabbed two of our teaching manuals, hoping to pass it on to friends in South Africa. The one was on Walking with God, and the other on The valley experience.  Little did I know that I would be walking through a major valley of my own very soon and that I was actually carrying those manuals overseas for my own use!

What stuck with me when I listened to those teachings again was that they talk about walking through the valley. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death…(Ps 23) … Who passing through the valley of Baca make it a well… (Ps 84:6)

The valley experience doesn’t last forever, and there are all kinds of precious promises for those of us who pass through it.  I have studied them, and I trust that one day they will come to pass for me. But for now all I can really do is walk through it. One. step. at. a. time.