So far, so good :-)

My poor old neglected blog. I have neither had the time, nor much inclination to write. I notice that my blog stats are going down, there was a time when I didn’t have less than 400 hits daily. Thank you to all you die-hards who are still stopping by to have a look-see every now and then! 

School is going well. I have a lovely bunch of children in all of my classes. The history curriculum took some time for me to get used to but I am loving it more and more! We have had some pretty interesting discussions in class already and I love it when the class is as involved as this bunch has been.

The journalism students are so enthusiastic! The students are all super-bright and creative and there are some strong personalities in the class. It is going to be a challenge to give them as much freedom as possible to express themselves, whilst bearing in mind the constraints placed upon them by the newsletter format. One girl in the class has already typed up an article without being told to do so, and it is hillarious! She has sworn the class to secrecy because she doesn’t want the rest of the school to know about the article until it is published.

I can’t wait to see what the rest of the class is going to come up with.

The one class where I am still finding my feet is the bible class. It’s funny, I thought that was the one class that would be a breeze for me. I dreaded the history, and it is almost my easiest class so far.

We have had some good moments in the bible class but I am still figuring out the age group and what they can and cannot handle. I am such a scripture girl – I think I have overwhelmed them with bible studies that may be a bit over their heads. I have forgotten they are only in their early teens – and they are dealing with all the hormonal stuff on top of everything. It will probably take me a few weeks to find my groove in this class, hopefully I am a quick learner.

Today was a homeschool day. For those of you who do not know, the school is a blend between a private school and a home school, the children have a full day of school three days a week and are homeschooled for the other two. It is nice to have the change of pace on the homeschool days. It has been a crazy, exhausting week and it is nice to slow down and breathe.

Slowing down gives me time to think though, and I have been missing Jenna acutely. I think that the stress of the last few weeks has worn me out and on top of that I am just plain p.m.essy. I was such a grouch this morning, grumbling and complaining about this and that and I couldn’t figure out why. DUH! It’s that time of the month. Couldn’t it have picked a better time? 😀

This picture of Jenna and Kiki was taken exactly a year ago. I miss her so.

22 responses to “So far, so good :-)

  1. Sumi,
    I’m glad to hear how school is going. I hope you continue to enjoy it so!

    This picture of Jenna is so incredibly adorable. She still has those “baby feet”. You know, the lack of a well defined arch, chubby toes. So cute.

    I’ve read that the 6 month mark is very hard. Please keep sharing how you feel and your love for Jenna. Eventhough many of us do not know you in real life, we pray for you and think of you often. I’m praying Heb 12:7-11 for you … that you will have a harvest of righteousness in your discipleship training. How much the Lord loves you!

    Blessings,
    Flowerpot
    made-new.blogspot.com

  2. Hi Sumi….I’m one of the “die-hards” that check your blog almost daily. 🙂
    You are going to be an awesome teacher for those students. I bet they just love you already!
    Jenna is so cute in that picture. You can tell she is in love with Kiki. I’m still so sorry about your loss. I can’t imagine how much you miss her. ((((SUMI))))

  3. Yay! You’re alive and surviving in the trenches! :o)

    I think, sometimes, the things we are most comfortable with are those that are hardest for us to teach because we want to teach EVERYTHING we know. :o) Does that make sense? I think that may be why the Bible class is a little more challenging. You know so very much and wish for all your students to have that depth of knowledge and it’s hard.

    Meanwhile, that Jenna, what a DOLL! :o)

  4. What a cutie, you have some great pictures of her. It makes alot more sense now that you explained the blended school thing, I was trying to figure out if you had decided to quit homeschooling or what exactly was going on. I think that’s a neat idea -perhaps the best of both worlds.

  5. Blessings Sumi,

    My thoughts, prayers, and “lurking” continue to be with you. Time marches one, as well as life, live in peace….we’re still here with you.

    Lynda

  6. I once heard that all we really need to know about most subjects is found in a Junior High level book. I’m glad the veteran teacher gave you such a helpful suggestion!

    God bless you deeply as you mourn your lovely lovely little girl.

    Love in Christ, Michal
    Lake Forest Park, WA
    immichal@yahoo.com

  7. I’ve been checking your blog daily and have missed you. I figured you were real busy with school. I like the idea of the school blend.

    Your daughter is so beautiful and what a touching picture. How she ever sat still long enough at that age for a kitten to go to sleep is beyond me.

    I believe, with all my heart, that your blogging about Jenna is one of the best things you do. Don’t think you are on a timetable to stop.

    You will find the area you need to be in with the Bible study. Some times I don’t know if it is good to study attitudes/attributes we are to have or factual stories. Of course if you could combine it that would be great. That was my goal when I taught children.

    Have a good Holiday weekend.

  8. Hi\
    Your daughter was absolutely beautiful. I am so sorry to hear of her passing. I wanted to let you know that my dear, dear grandfather used to call me his little muffin before he passed away when I was nearly eleven. He was
    like my father and remains extremely special to me.
    Praying that you feel Jesus near,
    Randi

  9. Sumi,
    We miss you but also understand that you are much busier than you were, it is ok, We will still be around to read your posts when you have a chance to write for us. You are doing the fabulous job that I thought you would!!!!! It will all come, just wait and see. God will work it all out for you. I love the photo of Jenna and Kiki, and it is ok to miss her.

  10. Thanks for the update Sumi! Glad to hear that school is going well. I am sure your students are blessed to have you! I am still praying for you my friend as I know the pain never goes away! You are loved!

  11. I’ve missed you too, but I know you’re swamped!

    It’s good to hear about the great start at school!! I’m proud of you!

    I woke up thinking about you and praying for you. God has you in His hands and His plan is working out in your life.

    Love you!

    Cynthia Y.

  12. Ran across a post you had left on sweet Joseph Peabody’s blog – our Sweet Jesus has ministered to me through you this morning as I skipped around on some of your writing. What a precious spirit your sweet Jenna has ……

  13. I’m proud of you!

    Please pray for my family as we’re traveling to Idaho this weekend to spread my dad’s ashes. We need extreme GRACE for each other! love you!

  14. Sumi:

    I’ve been checking back daily to see when you’d post. I’m so happy to hear from you!

    I am so happy to hear that school is going well.

    I love the idea of the home/private school. That sounds really interesting.

    I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever seen a more beautiful picture in my life. Seriously.

    Sending you love and hugs!

  15. I’m glad school is going well!

    I know what you mean about the blog stats! Mine have definitely gone down as I have posted less, as have my comments. I still check yours frequently. You shouldn’t feel pressure to write often. I’m sure so many, like me, will check often and be thankful when we get any kind of word. 🙂

    I know what you mean about missing Jenna. I have found that after times of intense creativity or an activity that I love, I go through kind of a depressed time. I think that maybe after experiencing great trauma our emotions are kind of “touchy” for lack of a better word. When something takes me up on an emotional “high”, I find that I end up having an equal “low” as they attempt to find balance. And like you said, the pain is often worse in the calm that comes after lots of activity. I love that picture you posted. She is so adorable that it makes my heart ache and I didn’t even know her personally…

  16. Hi Sumi,
    Thinking of you! Jena….so precious!!! May the Lord continue to give grace to your, our never ending wound!
    Cindy
    http://www.weloveyoujoel.blogspot.com

  17. I am glad to hear from you…so glad
    you posted the beautiful picture of Jenna.
    I check your blog, but don’t always post…
    but I do include you in my daily prayers.
    Know that you are in my thoughts often…

  18. Hi Sumi,
    I have been thinking of you. What a neat idea to have a blend of a homeschool and a private school. I love the pictures you post of Jenna.

  19. Thanks for the update! I have been thinking about you. Great to read about your school happenings!

  20. Hi Sumi,
    I know that you are going to be a fabulous teacher to those kids! You have it in you. That is an adorable picture of Jenna. ((hugs))

  21. Sumi,
    My heart is heavy tonight for you, for all of us. The number keeps growing and it feels overwhelming at times. I continue to pray for you as I know you are missing Jenna so much. She is so beautiful!
    Thinking of you!
    Love,
    Kim

  22. Okay, okay! I confess…I have been lurking lately! 🙂 So I’d better leave you a comment today! 🙂

    I did not realize that you were a teacher. What an awesome system that is…combining homeschooling with the classroom teaching! I had never heard of that before!

    God brings you to mind so often! Still lifting you up in prayer! Blessings to you as you teach!!!
    Love,
    Kimberly

Leave a Reply

