Hello Blogland!

It’s been a while. I have been consumed, for at least the past week, with getting our school newspaper published. Who knew that doing layout was so much work? I tried to get my class involved as much as possible in doing it. However, with a scatterling of computers, each with different things installed on them, and a three-day-a-week class schedule, there wasn’t much time to teach layout, nevermind delegating the task.

The kids played around with fonts, graphics, and with the heading of the paper, and worked on tweaking their articles for publication, but layout was largely my job – this time. And since I had never done it before, it was a time consuming learn-as-you-go process. Next publication will be better. I should have some computers by then, and we can use this edition’s layout as a foundation for the next one. Plus, I hope to have given my class the skills to handle much of the process by themselves.

The newspaper’s release was somewhat chaotic. My kids begged me to be able to personally hand the newsletters to the students when school got out. They announced it over the microphone (yes, we have a microphone, not an intercom system – long story) with much cheering and excitement. I felt a bit out of control, with so much happening at once. I was scurrying around, trying to get some last minute items to some of my history students, my journalism class was bouncing around my ears with excitement, gushing over how wonderful it was to see the whole school enjoy their hard work. Parents were coming up to me asking about a pending field trip, teachers were asking whether I would be willing to handle their class’ field trip RSVP’s and finances as well (the field trip was my idea). All in the space of ten minutes. And I was HUNGRY. I had only eaten half a bagle in that perpetual motion day. Whew!

Yesterday was a great feedback day. I had several parents tell me how much their children love my classes.  And the newspaper had a great reception. I tend to see my failures much more clearly, and am so aware that I could be more organised, or that this and that could have been done differently. I am on a major learning curve. But the positive feedback is a wonderful encouragement, and I am grateful for all the encouragement I get. 🙂 

I am glad that yesterday is over though, and today I can slow down a bit and breathe. Still, there is much to do, but the pace neededn’t be as frenetic as it has been.

Since work has taken up so much of my time, I (sadly) feel a bit out of touch with what’s happening at bible school. I have been going to only one class a week, or two at most. Bible school has been incredible. I have never sat under such a combination of solid bible teaching and anointed worship. It is deepening all the time, and we feel that God is about to do something very fresh and new in our midst. I do not want to be so consumed with work that I miss my “day of visitation”, and I know that Jesus, first and foremost, needs to come first.

I have taught my bible class out of John 1 that since Jesus is the Word of God, that is where we will find him, and it has made a great impression on them. Still, I myself have not given myself to reading God’s word and spending time in worship like I know I need to. I realise that Jesus is the fountain out of whom all things flow, and yet I can stop up that fountain with my crazy busyness.  I still have a yearning to worship him on an instrument, and still, I am not in the place where I am comfortable enough on either the piano or the guitar to do so. It all takes time. And using my time wisely is one of my biggest learning curves right now. Y’all can pray for me in that area.

I love the scripture in Psalm 110: “The Lord shall send the rod of thy strength out of Zion”. This scripture tells me that all my strength, everything I need to face my day, is found in God. We have been taught that Zion is not only a physical place in Israel, but it is also a spiritual principle. It is the place where Jesus is enthroned in my heart. It is the secret place where I meet with him who is the fountain of life. This is the place, God says in Psalm 132, where he longs to dwell and make his habitation: in the hearts of a people who have placed him above everything else in their lives.

This is what I want – for my strength to flow from that deep place of fellowship with Jesus. There really is no other way for me. I don’t just want to teach my bible students a dry word but I want it to be permeated with a life-changing anointing. I can’t give what I don’t have. Which means I have to make the time to drink from the fountain of God myself, so that I can then in turn pour some of that life-giving water over others.

Our pastor has given us warning that a month from now, he is going to start calling on us during any meeting to give a twenty minute talk about something that God has been speaking to us through his word. He’s told us to prepare and be ready at all times. Challenging, huh?

Anyhow, kudos if you have made it thus far through my not-as-rushed-as-usual-so-I-can-blah-blah-blah ramble. 🙂 It is sooooo good to be here, just blabbing.

4 responses to “Hello Blogland!

  1. I’ve missed you! Glad to hear how the Lord has kept you busy. 🙂

  2. Wow! That’s some week you’ve had. It is so nice to hear from you. Thanks for the encouragement to stay close to Jesus. I needed that!

  3. I so enjoyed reading your blog today. I needed to see that I am not the only one who does not consume the Word of God like I want to. I found it so interesting hearing about your week and the journalism too. Glad to hear from you. Have a wonderful day.

  4. How I love your writing and your insights. ‘This is what I want – for my strength to flow from that deep place of fellowship with Jesus.’ Me too, Sumi. Thank you for this reminder.

Leave a Reply

