The faucet

Ever done something stupid? Not once or twice, but four times in a row?

If intelligence is measured by the ability to learn from your mistakes, I must be seriously in trouble.

We have a kitchen faucet that has recently been getting a little rusty where it is supposed to swivel from side to side. I sometimes rotate it to loosen the rust build-up and make it easier to move, but on Saturday I must have worked the thing a bit too hard. The whole end part of the faucet broke off into my hand, leaving an exposed pipe that pointed away from the sink horisontally rather than down into it.

You can picture it, can’t you? I would be full of good intentions to rinse a dish, or wash my hands, but my innocent interaction with the faucet would be met with a straight-as-an-arrow shot of water right into the solar plexus. In the middle of winter. Not once, girls, but FOUR TIMES. I think that stinky faucet was taking revenge on me for causing it’s sad demise.

My teenager laughed at me the first two times, until it happened to him. Then I laughed at him.

My sweet, practical hubby thought of something that would never have occurred to me. He went into the broken faucet and took out the snake-like thingy that you spray your veggies with and now that thingy is sweetly pointing down into my sink, so that when I turn the faucet on the water will not spray me anymore. On the weekend we will go to Home depot and get us a nicer faucet to install in place of this vengeful old one. (It was a cheap Walmart brand that lasted for less than two years).

Until then, I am just grateful. Grateful that the hubby has a brain when I don’t. I was standing at that sink today, filling a pot with water and it occured to me that if he hadn’t doctored the thing I would have had to change my sweater today. Perhaps four times or more. 😉

5 responses to “The faucet

  1. Hi Sumi,

    That is hysterical. Why? Because I would have done the same thing. Just last night I was in the fridge looking for the ketchup bottle. I searched the entire thing and couldn’t find it. I was so dumbfounded since I distictly remember opening the brand new bottle just a couple of nights ago. Turns out, I had taken the ketchup bottle and stored it on our pantry shelves in the garage instead of putting it in the fridge. Where my head was on that one I have no idea. It’s a shame too. The bottle was practically full. At least we can laugh at ourselves.

    I look forward to getting to know you!

  2. haha, at least it wasn’t orange juice. 😉

  3. That sounds like something I would do too! I remember a few years ago I went to put the sweet tea back in the fridge. I don’t know exactly what happened, but I was putting glasses on the counter and the tea in the cabinet. I realized what was going on and just laughed and laughed! Not only was I not putting the tea in the fridge, I was removing glasses from the cabinet to fit it into the cabinet! HAHAHA!

  4. Oh, Sumi, that image is PRICELESS! Thank you for the evening chuckle! :o)

    I wish you and your family the best Thanksgiving. I know it is going to be tough this year. Hold each other close and God closer and before you know it, another milestone will have passed. I’ll be praying for you all. HUGS

  5. Humor is good medicine and I just received some reading your blog. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I, too, know it will be a difficult time without Jenna. My heart goes out to you and your family. I am so thankful you will see Jenna, yet again, in our Father’s House. That isn’t much comfort when you are in so much pain. May you allow God to hold you and your family in His hands.

Leave a Reply

