Give Thanks

…And now let the weak say I am strong
Let the poor say I am rich…
because of what the Lord has done for us

Give thanks…

I am blessed to have a new(ish) friend whom God added to my life shortly after Jenna died. He had connected us shortly before, but when Jenna went to heaven this sweet girl read my blog, cried for me, interceded for me, and ‘stalked me’ (her own words 😉 ) until I finally gave in and went to visit her one day…and left her house with the feeling that four hours of conversation with a good friend was not enough. I could have chatted with her at that pool deck for another four hours, easily.  This precious lady has become one of my biggest cheerleaders and staunchest friends, and I am so grateful to God for her.  

I was thinking about her today, praying for her and thanking God for her, and my heart was moved by the goodness of God towards me. I have so many special people in my life. Instead of thanking him for things this Thanksgiving, I want to thank him for these precious ones.

They are:

The precious friends that the Lord has blessed me with here in the US, who walk with me as I try to navigate life without Jenna, who encourage me, who give me hugs and a listening ear, who call me on the 17th of every month, who read my blog even though they know me and see me at church. I assume they all read my blog because they love me and want to keep up with where I am at, or because they miss Jenna and want to remember her too. That means a lot to me.

My friends in South Africa, who have known me for ‘yonks’ and who were there for us at the drop of a hat when they learned the news about Jenna. There’s nothing like old friendships that fit like a glove, and I am so thankful that they are all still in my life even though we left South Africa 9 years ago already. To my Stoney-boney friend: I miss you and your once-in-a-while emails (we are so slack, hey?) always make my day.  

My family in South Africa and here in the States. Thank you for never once saying a word of blame. Thank you for being the sweet and precious and generous people that you all are. Sometimes it pains me to think that losing Jenna was such a terrible loss and shock to you as well. I wish it were different. May Jesus comfort you all, as he comforts me.

My blog readers. There are few things that give me so much support as the ability to vent my thoughts here on this little corner on the web, only to find your sweet and encouraging comments cheering me on. Thank you, to all of you  for reading this and praying for me even though this blog is not always the most light-hearted blog out there. To all the mommies who walk this road with me, thanks for the hugs and the understanding.

My church. I am grateful for a pastor who has a true shepherd’s heart and for people who are united in their love for Jesus and each other. It is a rare thing, and I don’t take it for granted. You all are my family here in the USA, and I love you for it.

The people at my job. Thank you for providing me with a place where I can pour out my heart and my energy and feel like I am accomplishing something. The friendship and support I find at the school is a blessing. To my students – you are the best and you make my life soooooo interesting! 🙂

My hubby and the boys. I can say with absolute conviction that my hubby is one in a billion. I’d search a long time to find someone with the same integrity, the same kind and generous spirit, and the same down-to-earth humility. He’s smart and has dreamy eyes to boot. And he loves me – what more can I ask for? The boys make me laugh, they warm my heart, they are precious treasures, each with their own flavor and unique traits that make me love them so. 

 Jenna. I do so feel the gap she left in our lives, especially now with the holidays approaching. But my life would have lacked something if she had never shared those 3 and a half years with us. She added so much spark to our lives, and awakened a side of me that I never knew was there. If it weren’t for her, my girly side would probably still be slumbering. I’d probably never wear pink. My life would be poorer, less colorful, dull. I love you my girly-girl!

My good, kind and tender God, who has never left my side or let go of my hand. He is there when I call, and my heart can trust him implicitly. I have much to praise him for.

10 responses to “Give Thanks

  1. Walking the road with you today and always. May you feel God’s hand with you today and throughout the holiday season and thanksgiving & grace take on a whole new meaning.

  2. I’ve been thinking of you and your family a lot and praying for all of you.

    Cynthia Y.

  3. I am thankful for you for sharing your journey and helping us to trust Him a little more because you proclaim His goodness in the midst of such pain. It lets me know that I can live daily and put my children in His hand knowing that He is able to carry us all.

    Praying for you and yours in MD

  4. sumi, thank you for the words you shared on my blog. i love when i see your picture and i feel like you are a friend. i just wanted to say that wow, i really agree with you, and i feel like i am struggling with it all right now. it’s just been a hard day for a million reasons i know you understand. so, i just wanted to reach out and say hello…thank you for being a “constant”in this walk of grief. you are a blessing.

    ang

  5. Sumi…you & Jenna are such a blessing to me. Some days I just tend to the needs my kids have instead of tending to my kids. Then I come here and I go home and hug instead of clean and kiss instead of blog. Thanks for the difference your choice of sharing Jesus and Jenna in the same breath has made for this girl in Nebraska. Keep sharing her with us Sumi…We need her too.
    Love,
    Lelia

  6. Thanks for sharing your heart. My heart breaks for you at the thought of what you have lost. My forever friend Lucy who has also lost her beautiful daughter says “It is hard, but I know that there will come a day when I will be with her, longer than I am without her.” Many blessing to you.

  7. So good to walk through such an intense trial and to be thankful. I know that this year my thankfulness is different than last. I can relate to the many people who have walked with us that I am thankful for. Thank YOU for sharing about Jenna and her life. I have be blessed by it!

  8. Thank you for your sacrifice of thanksgiving and praise. Thinking of you and praying for you!

  9. Saying prayers for you.

  10. I love this post. I, too, had been thinking this Thanksgiving a lot about the friends He has so lovingly placed in my life. He is so tender in how He loves us through others.

    I smile every time I see your name in my inbox, and I lift up prayers for you when the Lord places you on my heart.

    Love,
    K 🙂

Leave a Reply

