Quick update

I have plenty of typing to do to put a school assignment together for my students, so I can only pop in for a minute. 🙂

An update on baby Camden, taken from an email I received shortly after his operation:

 
PRAISE GOD FROM WHOM ALL BLESSINGS FLOW!     

Little Camden Roell is in recovery.  The surgeon left the operating room smiling.  ALL of his organs were successfully moved except for a spleen.  The spleen started bleeding badly and it was decided to remove it.  When they did it, they found that God had given him an extra one!  Only one in about 500,000 people have a second spleen like that! 

Camden did not develop a diaphragm and only has one lung, but they either were able or are able to make him a diaphragm out of a synthetic material and the little lung he has, while under developed, is bigger than what they thought. 

Camden’s lung is still not working on its own, but the docs are continuing to work with him.  A machine will continue, at least for now, to oxygenate and clean his blood.

This is one tough little boy with a VERY BIG GOD! 

Thanks for praying everyone.

Things are going well over here, life is busy at the moment but the goodness of God makes my heart sing. Memories of our last few days with Jenna are coming hard and strong at the moment and I am weepy at times. Today a year ago we had just arrived on the family farm. Jenna was overwhelmed with all the ‘newness’ of everything and was a difficult little madam. I don’t have time to upload pictures right now but I’ll post some pictures from that trip later – I have some really cute ones. OH…what I wouldn’t do to just scoop the muffiny in my arms right now for a big bear hug! (Jenna gave great hugs, like her daddy).

Gotta go – Helena, thank you for your sweet note. I got it in the mail yesterday. Michelle – I have no link to your blog address. Please leave a link for me, I’d love to visit you there.

I’ll bow out with a question: Are you watching the Superbowl tonight? We’re going to our pastor’s – hence the haste to get schoolwork done. I have been asked to take a jar of pickles for sandwiches tonight. Do you like pickles?

8 responses to “Quick update

  1. Thank you for the update! I didn’t get to leave a comment the other day, but was praying. What an amazing praise! Two spleens!!!

    Yes…I am watching the Superbowl…just cause my sweet man is, though. 🙂 And yes, I like pickles. Have fun tonight!

    Praying for you!
    Love,
    K 🙂

  2. Praise God on Camden!!!

    I was wanting to mail you a card, but wasn’t sure if it would upset you further. Please email me and let me know. I know you are at a very tender time right now.

    The Lord has REALLY been laying you and your family on my heart more than usual lately. It doesn’t seem to matter what I’ll be doing, your name, face and sweet Jenna’s face pop in my mind and I hear Him say “Pray!” And so of course I pray!!!

    I love you!

  3. I forgot to mention that I love pickles. I don’t eat them often, but they are a special treat for me. When I was little I would eat peanut butter and pickle sandwiches! No one at school ever took my lunch! HA!

  4. Hooray for Camden! Praise the Lord!

    I know about reliving those final days. Keep holding each other and God close. I’m holding you in my heart and prayers.

    HUGS.

  5. I LOVE pickles!
    And I praise God for the good news on Camden.
    My husband is watching the superbowl…and I
    hear Bruce Springstein performing…while I’m
    doodling away here on the puter.
    My prayers are with you.
    susie

  6. I was so into the Superbowl! I was really hoping and praying that the Cardinals would win, but unfortunately they didn’t. 😦 But it was an awesome game!

  7. I find that the days that I can remember exactly what we were doing before our girl left us are the hardest too. I’ll be praying for you as this one year date approaches.

  8. I’m not sure if I’m the Michelle you mean, but if so my blog is

    http://paperglueetc.wordpress.com/

    I am praying for you daily and hopeful you are being good to yourself.

Leave a Reply

