Snippets, and a prayer request

Nothing much going on today, except that I dragged my cold self off to the grocery store where I picked up food for the kiddos and another ball of yarn. Yes, I have taken up knitting again! It has been so cold here that I became aware of the lack of scarves in my wardrobe, and that inspired me. I made myself a scarf in less than a week, and I am a very proud little Sumi!  

The scarf I’ve finished is black with a golden-ish tread running through it, the yarn I picked out today is soft and pink, like Jenna. I have already casted on and knitted about 10 rows, and the youngest says it reminds him of his little sister.

We have been doing OK, but I notice a general grumpiness around here. The kids are out of sorts a bit and arguing more than usual, and my patience is on the short side. I don’t know whether to attribute it to the time of Jenna’s heaven day approaching or just plain old warfare. It is a new season for hubby and I, with new challenges.

I just learned this morning that my mom will be popping in for a visit, arriving next Friday! I am not sure if it was meant to be a secret (because my mom hasn’t told me a thing), and I don’t even know how long she will be staying, but hubby told me so that I will be able to get her room ready. In our phone conversations recently my mom has been expressing how much she longs to just have a face to face visit with me where we can talk about Jenna, and without my knowledge, my hubby and his sister conspired to bring her here. Aren’t they sweetie-pies?

I have tons of schoolwork to do this weekend. Our newspaper will be published this week, which means a lot of layout work for me. (I still don’t have it set up in a way where the kids can do layout). I have tests to grade. And lots of planning to do.

It is also Jenna’s best friend Joseph’s fifth birthday this weekend. Last year he had a very low-key birthday, because they were waiting for us to get back from SA to celebrate Joseph’s birthday. Sigh. For Valentine’s Day Joseph made Jenna a precious heart collage which his mom mailed to us in South Africa – it never arrived. Oh…what I’d do for that valentine’s card to turn up after all this time.

I know that of all my friends here in America, Joseph’s mom and dad were the closest to Jenna. They miss her terribly too and celebrating “Jo-sho’s” special day without his Jenna will be bittersweet indeed.

Finally, a prayer request. Baby Nathan needs your prayers urgently. I told his friends that I would post a request on my blog so we could get the word out.

I can’t end this post without thanking all of you for your AMAZING support. What precious friends you all are to me! Thanks for your prayers and your encouragement, they are so appreciated. Someone asked me recently if I would mind receiving emails or a card for Jenna, and the answer is, I’d LOVE to!  I’m not always the quickest to respond to emails, but I appreciate all of you more than you can ever know.

In keeping with what I’ve been doing for the past week, I am posting pictures taken a year ago today. We were walking on the golf course in a game reserve (wild animals roam on the golf course at will…but only the reasonably benign kind – no lions rhinos or elephants). Jenna repeatedly ran from me, to my sister and mom, and back again, loving the feel of the soft grass on her bare feet.

copy-of-dsc09628

dsc09630

dsc09632

dsc09631

9 responses to “Snippets, and a prayer request

  1. I too posted a prayer request for baby Nathan. I sometimes wonder if I weren’t blessed with Hannah going as quickly as she did. There were no choices to be made, no lingering. One moment she was perfect and whole and the next moment an angel. Too morbid?

    I’m overjoyed your mom is coming to stay with you! How WONDERFUL!!

    I too have too much school work to do and I’ve been putting it off. Card making is much more fun.

    Knitting? Han called it “mitting”, hee hee. Every time I cast on and get about five rows going, Lil manages to find my needles and before I know it, I’m casting on yet again. :sigh:

    I hope things warm up for you, Sumi. HUGS!

  2. I love those pictures! The Lord has really been laying you on my heart! I feel like most of today I was praying for you. I’m not exagerating (and I’m probably not even spelling that right:). It seems like with each day that passes, the urgency to keep you and your family lifted up increases. Know that I’m being obedient to Him and praying for all of you!

    I was one of the ones who was wanting to send you a card and I wanted to make sure it would be ok, as I know you are in a very tender place right now. Now I know it’s ok! 🙂

    I am still trying to teach myself to knit, but I do crochet. It’s nothing to write home about, but it’s better than my knitting! LOL!

  3. I have been thinking of you a lot lately. Please know you are on my heart and I am praying. what a blessing to have your mom come visit.

    Love and Prayers
    Kristy

  4. Thanks for commenting on my site. I am so glad to “meet” you. I have been wishing for more connections to other angel moms lately. Thanks for sharing.

  5. I’m so glad you know that we are all here for you, some you know and some you don’t. You’re in my thoughts especially during this new chapter in your journey.

  6. I hear you on the warfare! It’s a rough time right now!

    As always, your little Jenna makes me smile….those photos are just adorable!

    You and your family, your mother’s trip, everything…..is in my prayers continually!

  7. Just wanted to let you know, I am praying for you and your family.
    Love in Christ

  8. I am glad your Mom is coming. The pictures are so good and I enjoyed seeing them. I have thought of you and your family often.

  9. Thinking of you and praying for you daily!!!

Leave a Reply

