Quick hello (warning: picture heavy post)

Yup, we are still here. My mom and sister (did I mention that she came along as a surprise?) are back in South Africa already and I have been playing catch-up with all the neglected school work. No time to blog, really. I did a half-completed photo blog on our visit to the cemetery on Jenna’s heaven day. I will merge it with this post and add it at the tail end. 🙂

I MARVEL at the goodness of God. Something incredible is happening in my life, a dream I have given up on a long long time ago, is unfolding right before my eyes. It is too fragile and fresh to share here right now, but tonight I can say with everything inside me: nothing is impossible with God.  The thing that always surprises me when God steps onto the scene, is how EASILY and simply everything works out. No sweat. Just me standing back in awe, knowing that God has done in a few short weeks something that I couldn’t do for twenty long years. I just love him for it tonight.

Today a year ago we were learning to live without Jenna. Amazingly, we had times of laughter between the tears. I end off with two pictures taken that day, and will copy and paste my unpublished blog entry about Jenna’s heaven day afterwards.

Oh…and before I go….hubby has this amazing thing to say that he has promised he would put on my blog. It’s been a while now, and I thought perhaps you all could help me beg  plead pressurize encourage him to post it. 🙂 It is a sweet little revelation about Jenna that I think will bless others as it has blessed me.

img_3050

Fun with the cousins…

img_3129

 

 

Jenna’s heaven day was a precious day.  My bible class and I enjoyed some of Jenna’s favorite snacks, and the school purchased an oak tree to plant in Jenna’s honor. We stood around the tree holding hands while the pastor prayed, and then released some pink balloons on which we had written some love notes for Jenna. When we finished some 6th graders shuffled up carrying a gorgeous memory box that they had made for Jenna. It was soooooo sweet. I’ll post a picture, when I have taken it.

We went to the cemetery after school, and had some more Jenna snacks while the kids played.

img_4158

img_4180

img_4186

img_4192

img_4196

Our friends Holland and Sarah…

img_4213

img_4224

img_4227

This last picture is of a Valentine’s card that Joseph had made for Jenna last year. His mom had saved it until now to open it. The words made us cry. Jenna and Joseph were the bestest friends ever.

I don’t know how anyone can walk through this without Jesus. His wonderful peace and grace is a constant blessing. What a good God we serve!

I want to thank all of you, my sweet bloggy friends, for all the precious comments you left on my last post. You are all amazing and I appreciate you so much! May Jesus give you all a big hug from me…y’all deserve one.

10 responses to “Quick hello (warning: picture heavy post)

  1. Sumi

    Yesterday was Baby James’ Heaven/Birthday (I just call it Baby James’ Day) and I had peace and I agree I wonder how folks get thru it without faith.

    Big hugs!

    Tell your hubby to get to posting!

  2. Ok, “Hubby!” You MUST post! You can do it! POST, POST, POST!!!

    My prayers haven’t ceased, I continue to lift your entire family up!

    Thanks for sharing the pictures with us.

    Praise God on your news. You don’t have to share it if it’s not time. Just know that I’m rejoicing with you!!!

    (((((((((((HUGS))))))))))))

  3. Hubby, time to post it!! I know I would LOVE to read what you experienced!

    Sumi, your post left me teary with joy for you. I’m not sure what is going on (I wonder if my inking of an idea is even close to correct…) but I’m praying for you that whatever it is may continue to be a blessing.

    Your Heaven Day looked and sounded wonderful! What an amazing school you work at. :o)

    Many HUGS to you and your family. Another HUGE milestone passed.

  4. How nice to see your post.! Like hearing from an old friend that you are grateful is doing well. May you continue to feel embraced by God’s comfort and grace and overwhelming blessings. Can’t wait to hear more about the unfolding of this dream deferred, and for your Hubby to post!!!

  5. It’s so good to see an update. My thoughts were with you and your family during this time of anniversary.

  6. I am crying tears of joy because of what God is doing in your life which I really don’t know what it is. I ‘m still praying for you and your family. I glad to see God is answering our prayers for you. We do serve an awesome God!!!!!
    Joanna

  7. So glad to hear how God is keeping and sustaining and loving you through this time. He is ALWAYS faithful! I often wonder how any parent can go through the death of their child without Christ as well. I know we definitely would not have made it through in the past 3-1/2 years like we have with out our faith and without knowing the One who is able to keep us from falling…

    I was glad to read how you and your husband can be out somewhere and see a little girl and want to go and hug her. There have been many, many times when we have been the same with a teenage girl. We have been very blessed though in that some of our daughters friends have kept in contact with us and we have been able to watch them grow into young women. And how I love getting hugs from them!

    I pray that God will continue to open doors for you. It has been a haul for us but are beginning to see God open some doors for me as well… some of which I’m not quite sure of though. But He will guide.

    Blessings to you!

  8. Praying that you all are well and continuing to feel His grace and comfort. To God be the Glory!

  9. It’s good to keep updated on you, Sumi. I hope your hubby will post his special thoughts.

    I’m so glad you had a sweet time with your mom and sister.

  10. Oh Sumi,

    I love your heart. Thank you for the truth you posted over at my place.

    And tell hubs- WE WANT TO READ HIS POST— please, please with a cherry on the top.

    Smiles and hugs.

Leave a Reply

