Swiss cheese brain and the end of things

I realised today why I don’t blog anymore. I have swiss cheese brain. You know…a holey brain as opposed to a wholly brain (or a holy brain). 

 I had so many bloggable moments today. My students made hillarious comments that should have been recorded for use in the school newspaper. Sigh. My boys were their cute/wise/quirky/babbly selves and we had a sweet conversation in the car on the way home today. You know, the kind of conversation where the teenager even switches off his ipod to listen and comment.

All gone. I have a holey brain that allows everything to run out as water through a sieve.

I wonder if it is delayed stress, or having too much to think about, or (gasp) old age, but today as we arrived home I went into my bedroom and shut the door and tried to REMEMBER something the boy had said. I thought at the time…Hmmm, neat blog topic, until the conversation went elsewhere and my mind went with it. I even asked Jesus to help me remember, which I did, much later.

The boy made a random passing comment about how people’s looks don’t change even as they get older. They are always recognizable. It made me think…yes, once you know a person’s features you can pick them out in a photo, even if you skip ahead or skip back many years. But when all you have is a baby picture, it is not quite so easy.

I remembered how, when Jenna was a baby, I had a very sketchy idea of what she was going to look like. (And boy, was I curious to find out 🙂 .) But as she matured, I could go back and look at her baby pictures and recognise the chubby cheeks, the rosebud mouth, those gorgeous eyebrows, and see HER. Same thing with the boys.

I considered the thought that what God is doing in my life seems to be like my little Jenna’s baby face. Right now the picture is a vague blueprint, and it will take time to see how everything plays out. At the end, when the all things are complete, I will be able to trace my way back in time to see that even at the beginning of things, God knew what the end result would be. He knows the plans he has for me, plans to prosper me and give me an expected end (Jeremiah 28? too lazy to look it up).

I’ll end this with a quote from my Facebook status. 😀 Sorry to repeat it for those of you who have read it already. What can I say? My holey brain can’t think of anything more to say.

 I am so grateful that Jesus knows the end from the beginning. James 5:11 tells us that at the end of all our struggles, God’s tender mercy and compassion will be abundantly evident. (Heck, if we can see his goodness even in MIDDLE of our trials, how much more gloriously evident will it be when it all comes together at the end?) EVERYTHING God does in our lives is redemptive.

G’night all!!!

2 responses to “Swiss cheese brain and the end of things

  1. I am a regular visitor to your blog. I was talking about you to my husband today. Your Jenna is a beautiful girl. It bothers me that I don’t remember more of when my children were smaller. My baby is 18 mnths and I just recently lost all the photos from her first year due to a computer crash…I was so very upset, still am when I dwell on it. Reading your blog and another blog friend who’s daughter went to heaven this month helps me put things in perspective when I interact with my children, but in some strange way it scares me to love them more…

  2. What a perfect, beautiful analogy. Thank you so much for your wisdom, Sumi.
    “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” 1 Cor. 13:12

Leave a Reply

