In which people look at me quizically (again)

I should be packing. Really. Tomorrow morning we are hopping in the van for a four hour trip to South Carolina for the long-awaited and oh-so-exciting wedding of one of my firstest and bestest friends in the United States.

I will be singing the song that she picked for me to sing at her wedding…oh, about five years ago when her hubby-to-be wasn’t even a blip on the horison. The same song that I was singing at the top of my lungs (well, not really, but it was ‘hearable’) whilst loading groceries into the van at Walmart today.

Some passerby made flashed me a big smile and said: “Thank you.” I’m still puzzled at what he meant. Thank you for singing? Or did did it have something to do the words: Let me look upon your beauty, as if it were the first time I’d seen it… 😀

Hmmm.

I was at a store today looking for something to wear at the wedding and left empty-handed. I approached the exit doors at an angle, since I had just hung up a dress against the wall near the exit. The doors wouldn’t budge. Uh -oh. I tracked back into the store again and approached the doors from the correct angle this time, fully expecting them to slide open. No such luck. So I jumped up and down in my place a few times.

I do not weigh a whole lot and I have been embarrassed in the past by doors that do not register my approach. I always get a mild anxiety attack anticipating a repeat of that scenario, and wondered exactly what kind of theatrics I would have to perform in order to coax the doors into realising that I am actually there, wanting to go out, thankyouverymuch.

So I felt this consternation rising withing me, as I flashed helpless looks towards the lady at the cash register and an older man sitting in a nearby chair. Both were watching me quizically. I half wondered why the man wouldn’t just act the gentleman and walk up to the door so his weight could cause it to swing open.

“How do you open these doors? ” I asked. “They are not working”.

This is when the man piped up. “Just push it.”

Ahem.

Oh, I could have died. I laughed all the way to my car, but I was as red as a beetroot too. Swiss cheese brain, I tell ya.

This could go down as an almost-most-embarrassing moment. I have a few  (much) worse stories, LOL. (You’re welcome to share yours if you want to make me feel better. 😉 )

13 responses to “In which people look at me quizically (again)

  1. HAHHAHHAAA! I shared that with my kids, yes, we all got a good laugh out of that! Thanks! I’ve been sick all week and needed the laugh!

    My funny story…..

    It was about 12-13 years ago and I wasn’t driving. I was on Marta (public transportation) at the time. It was pouring down rain and I was walking to the bus stop. There was a man on the other side of the street walking away from another bus stop. A car drove past and hit a huge puddle of water and a HUGE wave of water drenched the guy. I was pointing and laughing. I had never seen anything like that. A few seconds later a car drove past me and hit a huge puddle and a HUGE wave of water drenched me! HAHAHAHAHHA! The guy pointed and laughed at me and we were rolling and laughing! I so deserved that! Things like that never happen!

  2. Enjoy the wedding of one of your “first friends” in USA who we also first met when we went to Jacksonville on a visit. A very, very special person. Please sing “at the top of your voice” as only you can do it. Convey our best wishings.
    Regards, and love to you all.
    Yousepa en Ma.

  3. Thank you for the laugh this morning, Sumi. Have a safe trip to SC. What part of SC are you going to?

  4. LOL, no funny stories from me. I am just going to savor yours. =)

  5. Thank You!! (and tell your parents thanks too!)

    by the way – that was a VERY funny story! There’s one other I remember that was probably a lot more embarassing . . . I’m sure there’s more where that came from too! hehe, seems you have the same gift as I do when it comes to making a fool of myself. . . at least it’s a lot funnier when it’s you. hehehehe

    • Yeah dana, my dad has a big soft spot for you. He knows quality when he sees it. 🙂

      I am so glad you keep that ‘other story’ to yourself! LOL!

  6. LOL! I would SO be the one belting out tunes in the parking lot and getting the stares. ;oP

    I’ll have to give that embarrassing moment some thought and get back to you. I’ve got SO many it’s hard to decide which one to share. :oP

  7. Sumi, that is too funny!!

  8. Oh Sumi, I’m cracking up! I don’t know you, but I can totally picture you jumping up and down in front of that door. Thanks for the laugh 🙂

  9. Oh my goodness…too funny!!

    I hope your Mother’s Day is a blessed one Sumi. Was just thinking of you.

  10. Happy Mother’s Day!!!

    I’ve been praying for you and your family. I hope your trip was nice and I’m sure you did great on your song!

    Cynthia Y.

  11. Hi, my friend, thinking of you today. Wondering if you saw this: http://thepipers.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/do-you-want-to-die-this-mothers-day/

  12. Hi, Sumi!
    First…let me say, this post was too, too funny. 🙂 You are a good sport to share it with us. 🙂 I won’t be any fun and tell you any stories about myself today, though. Just know that I am blonde…VERY blonde…:).

    Secondly, just wanted you to know you have been on my heart and in my prayers.
    Love you,
    K

Leave a Reply

