To Phyllis

Thanks girl, for asking me how I was doing yesterday. And then, for replying to my perfunctory “I’m doing well”, with a flat out denial. You told me that no, you could tell I was not alright, so I promptly burst into tears and called you a “sharp” girl.  Thanks for making space for me to sit down next to you on the bench and tell you my woes. Even more than that…thanks for praying for me as much as I now realise you have been doing, despite the fact that you are going through such a dark valley yourself, being racked with pain constantly.

I realise you probably don’t read my blog. Still, I just want to put it on paper this computer screen that even though there was this part of me that just wanted to run and hide and not be vulnerable, you were the hands and feet of Jesus to me yesterday. I felt his soothing presence washing over me as you allowed me to open my heart and pour its contents out in your hearing.  You are one strong woman, Phyllis. You reminded me yesterday that it is a good thing to press in and allow the Jesus inside us to minister to others even when we are in the midst of our darkest trials. May he bless you for your faithfulness, and may you find your healing soon.

Love, Sumi

 

Yeah…so I had a low week. I have been facing a battlefield in my mind which is quite unrelated to missing Jenna, but it has triggered an acute case of  “the missing”  in me.

In the middle of this battlefield though,  I keep seeing glimpses of Jesus and of his faithfulness and I hear him telling me time and time again: “I’ve got it. Don’t you worry. Do you realise how much I love you and how much you can trust me? ”

So I bow and say, “Yes Lord. I will trust you. I KNOW you are a merciful God and you have my best interests at heart. I will walk through this valley if you want me to.” 

And I praise God for all the sweeties in my life that he has so graciously surrounded me with. For real people who love me and pray for me and allow me to cry on their shoulders once in a while.

Phyllis is not the only one by a long shot.

3 responses to “To Phyllis

  1. It’s interesting how in a totally unrelated area to what you’re going through, I’m learning the same lesson from Jesus, “Don’t worry, trust me, I have everything under control, you are special in my eyes and I won’t let go of you.”

    and Thank You Jesus for Phyllis!!

  2. I’m so grateful you have such a dear friend nearby. 🙂

    God is also working in me through different circumstances and I’m sure He is saying the same thing to me, I’m just refusing to listen. Our ordeal has been going on for so long, it is just draining. He keeps saying we will be delivered, I just haven’t seen it yet. It’s hard to hold on to faith when the promise has yet to happen and so much time passes.

    Always praying for you!!!

    Cynthia Y.

  3. A beautiful letter to your friend, Sumi. As you know, I am so thankful for friends who will call a person out on lying about being fine.

    Praying for you, sweet Sumi. I know you are a blessing to all who get to know you “in real life.”

Leave a Reply

