When you’re weary…

My dad always tells the story of the guy who got a flat tire on a lonely highway. Far in the distance, he could make out the lights of a farm house. He set off across the fields to go and borrow a jack from the farmer, and as he plodded on he rehearsed in his head how he would ask the farmer for this. He realised it was quite late in the evening. The farmer probably wouldn’t take kindly to being disturbed.  These farm folk are quite set in their ways and the farmer probably wouldn’t even open the door to him, never mind lend him a jack. By the time the man reached the front door of the farm house, he was fuming. When the farmer opened the door the stranded man shouted one sentence to him: “You can just take your jack and shove it, then!” and stormed off.

LOL! I can so be like that man! I have always had this propensity for painting scenarios in my head before anything actually comes to pass. I did not get stranded on a lonely road, nor did I need to ask anyone for help, but the last week or so I had tried to figure out the next valley that I thought God was bringing me to, and tried to see the good in it.

I had, what I thought, (and a nurse friend agreed) were swollen lymph glands. Then, last week I noticed an unmistakeable lump in my side.  I’ve been feeling tired lately. Full of tiny, unexplainable aches and pains.  OKKKK…I thought, so my next test would be a real battle for my health. I envisioned myself losing my hair…getting painfully thin…watching my kids and my hubby worry about me…blah blah blah. I know that God doesn’t delight in afflicting his children and that everything he does is redemptive, so I was trying really hard to keep my chin up and trust him, in whatever he does and wherever he leads me. I know everything works together for those who love him and who are called according to his purposes.

But I was scared. I was in a mental battle.  And in the midst of this niggling worry, I hit a real low emotionally.

I went to the doctor today. The “swollen lymph glands” are actually just knots in the muscles around my spine. The lump is a simple fatty deposit thingy. The aches and pains are probably just the beginnings of  arthritis, and I am really very well.  Talk about getting myself worked up over nothing!

The emotional low lingers though. As I left the doctor’s office, mentally exhausted and deep in thought, a lamp post jumped into the parking lot right in front of me and ding-ed my car badly. Sigh.

I am just a bit out of sorts and find myself missing Jenna and bursting into tears at odd moments.  I guess I should take the advice I wrote to a bloggy friend yesterday: We all get weary and feel tapped dry sometimes. Even Jesus got weary and had to sit down to rest. When he did though, he sat on a well. I need to go and sit on the well of God’s living water and allow his sweet presence to wash over me and restore my vision. Everything I need is in Jesus.

In his presence is fullness of joy.

Isa 41:17-18When the poor and needy seek water, and there is none; their tongue fails for thirst, I Jehovah will hear them, I the God of Israel will not leave them. I will open rivers in high places, and fountains in the midst of the valleys; I will make the wilderness a pool of water, and the dry land springs of water.

7 responses to “When you’re weary…

  1. Another beautiful, vulnerable, inspiring post, Sumi. I’ve been reading your blog since right after Jenna went to be with Jesus and I can honestly say, I’m always blessed by your heart and journey with Christ. I love the scripture you mentioned from Isaiah. May you be refreshed by living water today.

  2. I pray you will be refreshed as well!

    I REALLY needed to hear that, as I have really been feeling burnt out.

    I always get so much from you and your posts. Thank you for that!

    Cynthia Y.

  3. Oh, Sumi. I, too, had to have some tests this summer…and had myself all worked up inside. I would tell myself not to worry, to trust the Lord…and I would be fine…and then I would go back to coming up with all of the worst case scenarios!Of course, my tests came back fine. I am so glad He is so patient with us. 🙂

    I wanted to come by and let you know that I’m pulling back from blogging. You are so sweet to stop in from time to time and I hated for you to just find me totally gone one day for no reason.

    I’m still keeping your blog where I can easily get to it…for me to still pop in on you. You always bless my heart.

    Love to you,
    K

  4. I hope you are doing okay, haven’t seen you post in a while.

    God bless.

  5. Thinking of you, Sumi.

  6. I keep checking in to see if you have posted. I started to post something several times, but couldn’t find the right words.

    I continue to pray for you and your family!!

    (((((HUGS)))))

  7. Liefste Sumi,
    Tomorrow your precious little girl would have been five years old. We know how you miss her,we miss her with you, for you.This pain doesn’t go away,not so? Yet, we know where she is,and she is still just as precious, and beautiful,and uniquely Jenna!We have this hope in our wonderful Lord Jesus.
    Love you all. Ma Mariana.

Leave a Reply

