Out of the cocoon

I don’t know how to start my blog posts anymore! I’ve been absent so long, it feels like I need to explain, or play catch up or something.

I really should write more, because there are moments in my day that I want to capture, that will be forgotten if I don’t write them down. I always wish I had written about Jenna more, recorded her sweet sayings and her milestones. AH well…

The boys provide lots of amusement around here. My middle son learned that he could burp on demand recently. So yesterday, while we were alone at church, waiting for hubby to print out the song sheets for the worship service (he led worship last night), the boys enjoyed hearing themselves sing over the microphones. Middle son, of course, had to try out his burping technique – and belched out a hillarious rendition of “Jesus loves me.”

I attempted some beat boxing. I had this misguided impression that I would actually be quite good at it. Alas, it was not the case. I sounded scary.

Teaching has been hard this year – or at least, harder than it seemed last year. I think there are many factors that play into that. I have added an extra (high-maintenance) class, my son is in three of my classes and it definitely affects the classroom dynamic, plus I do not have the luxury of having a weekly cleaning lady this year. (Last year a sweet friend paid for me to have one.) On Thursdays and Fridays the boys are home and supposed to do their home school work, but they manage to drag it out over the whole weekend. All of the above make me feel like I am not making ends meet, time wise.

Today, the boys and the hubby were out for a good chunk of time to get haircuts, and I could clean/de-clutter to my heart’s content, whilst playing my music as loud as I wanted. It was bliss. But I am disappointed by how much I actually got done, and how much work this house still needs. It seems an impossibility to get this place in pristine order. (Nevermind keeping it that way.)

I have been quite emotional lately and missing Jenna acutely. I was trying to figure out why when I realised: there doesn’t have to be a reason why. I don’t always need to explain why I am missing her more at some times than at other times. The fact that Jenna isn’t here with us is reason enough for any missing that I feel. That I can carry on living and laughing and loving life at other times is pure grace.

I was telling a friend at church (who is grieving the loss of her younger sister and her bestest friend) that now, 21 months later, it often feels MORE painful, and the realization that Jenna was here once and now she is gone sometimes hits me like a gut punch. It seemed at first, that Jenna was all I could think about, and I was constantly clinging to God and trying to make sense of what had happened. I was wrapped in a cocoon of grace then and I was full of hope that everything would eventually work out beautifully, to the glory of God. Now there are so many other things that crowd in, that sometimes thoughts of Jenna catch me unprepared, outside of that safe place that I was wrapped in at first. Sometimes those thoughts take my breath away.

My friend responded and compared this new place that I am in, to a cocoon unraveling. We can’t stay wrapped up in our protective cocoons forever, at some point the covers need to be stripped away so that Jesus can continue to do a fresh work in our hearts. Hopefully when I finally come out of that cocoon it will be as a butterfly and not some ugly moth. LOL.

I am off now, to go and take a long, hot, soak in the bath. I’ve given up on cleaning the house for the time being. Part of me wishes that I could just skip church tomorrow and get things done around here for a change! I know that I never regret going to church though, it is always refreshing to worship God with my church family.

Wouldn’t a three day weekend be nice?

7 responses to “Out of the cocoon

  1. I don’t think moths are necessarily ugly 🙂 And I think you could find symbolism in that they come out of the darkness seeking the Light, and flock to it relentlessly. 🙂

    I’m praying for your heart, Sumi. It’s battle worn, and so very precious. ❤

    • Thanks, Jen.

      You are right, I have seen some gorgeous moths in my life time. And I love your analogy.

      Thanks for praying. Your comment made me cry, but in a good way.

  2. I’m so sorry I haven’t been able to keep in touch. My computer crashed and my laptop is not much better.

    When I did find your site again, it was a Sept. post, no matter how many times I tried, it was the same post. I was finally able to get through tonight and see your latest posts.

    Sorry for the rambling.

    Even though I’ve been unable to keep up with you, I’ve never stopped praying. It actually made me pray more for you, seeing as I was unable to get updated.

    I’m still here for you!

    (((HUGS)))

  3. Hey sumi…I tried to send you an e mail on your birthday but it failed citing an unknown address…has your address changed? Will try and phone you on the weekend…love you a million

    Your dinosaur friend!

    • Heather!!! I need to send you my new email address. Oops. It’s been on my ‘to do’ list for a while.

      I love you a million more. 🙂

  4. Thinking of you this Christmas Eve. and feeling a bit of the same sadness you must feel, as I lost my Dad Sept. 14th. I enjoy reading your posts and they always give me hope that no matter what happens, God’s grace will carry me through. May God Bless you and nourish you in the coming months. Love and prayers from a stranger.

  5. I’m lifting you and your family up in prayer. Merry Christmas!

    I’m here for you if you ever need to talk. 🙂

    ((((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

