Home Alone

Home Alone. Yes, for once, I have the whole house to myself. Two of the boys are at a sleepover birthday party, the oldest teenager is on a spiritual retreat, the hubby will leave work soon to go to church.  I am skipping church tonight. I realized earlier this afternoon that I NEED some time out, some time alone. The only times when I am on my own is when I am out running errands.  I want to be alone in my own space. I am craving the solitude and the absence of any demands placed on me.

I came up here to the computer to play a teaching tape, or some music on my iTunes while I clean.  Yes, this is what I want to do with my alone time. I want to clean my house without being distracted by the thousand sundry needs of the little people who live here. Or without dealing with the little-people-induced messes that spring up like magic to confound me as soon as I feel like I am making progress in my cleaning.

So, here I sit, spending precious time blogging instead of doing a half-cleaning, half-dancing stunt through my house to the sounds of Selah. I opened my Google Reader page – just to “check something quick”, (should’ve known better) and got sideswiped by a blog that was so real that it cut me to the core.  I realized something. I have spent the last year being entertained and lulled by the superficiality of Facebook. I like how Facebook keeps me in the know, and satisfies that thing in me that is curious to learn what other people are up to.  (Especially my middle and high school students, they are a trip!) But very rarely, in the Facebook world, do you encounter the kind of gut-wrenching, eye-opening, epiphany-creating exchange of thoughts that you do in the blogging world.  And I realized that I miss it. I don’t have much time for blogging, and I can’t spend much time reading other blogs, but I do miss pouring out my heart and being inspired by the hearts of kindred souls.

So there. I don’t want to write any more just now, even though I feel that I have a lot to say. My house desperately needs me, people. But I want to write more.

I’ll be back.

8 responses to “Home Alone

  1. Yes, FB has it’s place but it doesn’t fill the gap like a good ol’ blogging session can lol.

    I look forward to your future posts. Enjoy your ‘me’ time… I love the solitude you spoke of… and crave it often. My husband and son have just left for an afternoon of golf and my daughter is a work… so it’s just me and the 2 babies (ahem, dogs 😉 )…

  2. Hey Sumi…this is your dinosaur friend! I am so glad that you are blogging again…I’ve missed you! I cannot stand facebook…for many reasons and I promise not to bore you with the details..and I’ve got a lot of of flack from friends for refusing to join up…remember that stubborn, Irish streak that lurks deep within my soul??? I’ve mentioned often to you that this particular “space” is a ministry space. You don’t even have to try to be a gift to others…you just are …so welcome back dear friend…love you…always have and always will…

  3. How are you Sumi? I so understand the need to be alone but also having to clean or organize something and then getting sucked into the internet…..it happens often to me. Like now, I’m supposed to be studying ANOVA for statistics and here I am……Hope to hear from you soon.

  4. I still check on you from time to time. Still praying for you and your family.

  5. I have been away from blogging for a long time. While I have reacquainted with some friends that have been absent in my life since high school, I really don’t interact. Our church is on FB and I wrote devotions and post scripture etc. What has disturbed me is my solitude is shattered when I read the garbage on FB. I have to remove posts from our church FB. Isn’t that so sad. Most of my friends, like myself, only post occassionaly and they too believe as I do, FB can be a great tool but it can also destroy.

    You write so beautifully and are so able to articulate your deepest feelings. I wish I could do the same. Your blogs mean so much to so many, even though they might not leave you a comment. May God richly bless you.

  6. Hi Summi, been thinking about you, even tough you haven’t written in a long time. Hope things are going well for you and your family. Praying that God is continuing to strengthen you all on your grief and faith journeys.

  7. I miss your blogging voice!

  8. I’ve often wondered about you and how you are doing. I guess you have stopped blogging. I miss your posts!

    I still pray for you and your family.

    Cynthia

Leave a Reply

